RSS Feed

Designer Spotlight: CrazySocks Designs

Designer Spotlight: CrazySocks Designs

CrazySocks4Meet Danyel Pink! She is the owner/ designer at CrazySocks Designs, and has been one of my favorite sources of crochet inspiration! Her massive fan base (nearly 11,000 on facebook!) enjoys following her continued success because she is a seasoned artist with very good taste! Most of her designs are quite common in the crochet world, and can be found on her website, etsy, ravelry, and blog. Danyel was kind enough to share some Q&A and photos for our Design Wars followers. Read, share, enjoy!

Salena Baca (SB): If you could meet anyone in the crochet world, who would it be? Why?

Danyel Pink (DP): I would LOVE to meet the other Design Wars ladies! They are a kind, talented group of women and I think we would have a great time chatting, hooking & drinking wine/coffee/tea. Maybe we could all go to the spa for a professional hand massage, too. LOL

SB: What is your most recent accomplishment?

DP: I successfully managed to FLY with my 3 children (ages 6 and under) from Seattle to Chicago, and back. Everyone survived, so I call that an accomplishment…wouldn’t you?

SB: Other than your own designs, do you have a favorite pattern:

DP: I stumbled across this Flower Hot Pad pattern on Crochet Pattern Central several years ago. It’s one of those patterns that looks harder than it is, and makes people think you’re a lot more talented than you really are. OK, that probably came out wrong, but I think you know what I mean. These hot pads make great gifts, and are awesome enough to impress your grandmother.

SB: Which would win in a street fight; a sheep, or an alpaca?

DP: A sheep…have you seen the movie Babe? Mama Sheep will get all “BAA RAM EWE” on some alpaca booty!

SB: What color combinations do you currently love?

DP: I generally tend to love bright colors…but have been feeling very “earthy” lately. Brown, Cream, Blues, or Greens & then something that pops like a medium Red or Pink.

SB: What crochet design do you wish you thought of first? Are there any that blow your mind?

DP: I know this would make me like 200 years old, but I wish I had invented the granny square. I’d be so famous. Ha ha! Seriously though, it’s so versatile, can be personalized in so many ways, and it’s not just for afghans anymore. LOVE Granny Squares!

If you’re a brand new fan to CrazySocks Designs you can check out some of her FREE pattern work, right here: Jan Hat, Newborn Pumpkin Beanie. If you’re a fan and would like to root for CrazySocks Designs in DWII, get your Team Badge right here and enter for your chance at our Red Heart Yarns Prize Pack too!

Got your own question for Danyel / CrazySocks Designs? Post it in a comment below and she may answer you!

CrazySocks7 CrazySocks Spotlight

5 responses »

  1. I have a questions. Do you love your last name!? I would love that last name : )

    Reply
  2. I’d like to know…when did you learn to crochet? Who taught you?

    Reply
  3. I need to know when you are going to make me that hat you are wearing! 😉

    Reply
  4. I made a You-tube tutorial on how to fold and form the Flower Hot pad that you posted a link to. Here is a link to it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7P2E4zOVKs
    Good Luck to you and all the other fabulous designers in your Design War projects. I can’t wait to see what you all come up with.
    Carolyn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

