RSS Feed

Designer Spotlight: Unravel Me

Designer Spotlight: Unravel Me

TheresaMeet Theresa Grant! She is the owner / designer at Unravel me, which is probably the coolest name a crochet business could ever hope for!

Theresa was added to my list of favorite designers when I first found her Alisa Hat pattern back in late 2011, and I’ve been a faithful stalker ever since – you can stalk her too; she is conveniently located on etsy, .com, and ravelry!

I’ve adored her sweet and whimsical designs, like the Baby Cakes Cupcake Hat and Penelope Bonnet, but am utterly in love with her adult ones too (check out the Flower Top Tam, and tell me your heart doesn’t skip a beat!).

It’s no wonder Theresa has a huge following (nearly 7,000 on facebook alone!), she is a master knitter as well, and her knit designs are just as lovely as her crochet work! I asked her to put her hooks and needles down for a little Design Wars Q&A, so read it, enjoy it, share it, love it!

Salena Baca (SB): What are the best words of wisdom you can provide to hopeful designers?

Theresa Grant (TG): Follow your heart and do what comes naturally to you.  I’ve found that designing is a lot of creativity and a lot of work.  Don’t give up right away if your design is not working out the way you wanted it to.  But, don’t hang onto it if it is consuming and frustrating you.  Be sure to have your design tested in every size so that the directions are as clear and concise as possible.  Be unique.  Don’t be afraid to experiment with stitches/combinations to make them do what you want them to do.  It’s your yarn, make it work for you!

SB: What is your most recent accomplishment?

TG: My latest released pattern is my Chloe Slouch Hat.  I’m proud of how it’s so simple, yet the texture and style are very trendy.  It’s available in toddler, child, and adult sizes too.

SB: Which would win in a street fight; a sheep, or an alpaca?

TG: What type of sheep? Unless it’s merino, I think a sheep would win the fight, because wool is sturdier than alpaca, but the alpaca would win everybody over in the end because the alpaca is so soft and lovely.

SB: What color combinations do you currently love? 

TG: I love cream and seafoam together, pink and brown, and grey and cream currently.  This changes often, I love color!

SB: Other than the DWII garment, what are you working on?

TG: I’ve always got several patterns in the works, sometimes they just sit for a while before I ever get around to writing them up.  Currently I have about 7 things in my brain that I’m picking apart and a few more started but not finished.  I’m crazy that way. 

Theresa1

Theresa2Unravel Me Spotlight

If you are a brand new fan to Unravel Me you can check out some of her FREE pattern work: Cuppa Joe Java Jacket, Oh So Soft Baby Washcloths. If you are a fan and would like to root for Unravel Me in DWII, get your Team Badge and be sure to enter for your chance at our Red Heart Yarns prize pack (valued at $150)!

Got your own questions for Theresa / Unravel Me? Post it in a comment below and she may answer you! 

Leave a Reply

