RSS Feed

Designer Spotlight: Baca Creations

Designer Spotlight: Baca Creations

SalenaThat’s right folks, this is Salena Baca (owner / designer of Baca Creations), and I’m preparing my own Design Wars Spotlight! That means I’ll be telling you how wonderful I am, while omitting all of my bad traits! Really…

Since grade school, crochet has been a hobby of mine and has provided a certain solace that gave me an identity; who the heck would I be, if I wasn’t always the chick who crocheted? It’s been a constant in my life, and a very good friend to me. I wish to always, always crochet. Always.

If you are already a fan of my work, you may know that I began Baca Creations as a made-to-order crochet business back in mid 2009. A few of my most successful designs were the Sleepy Eye Owl Hat, Favorite Newsboy, Stars N Stripes Newborn Set, and I think I’ve made about 75 Blue Bird Hats in my career. From hats to leg warmers, diaper covers to blankets, I’ve probably made over 1,000 crochet goods since Baca Creations began. In fact, before I slowed down the production side of my business to promote my patterns, I had a constant 6 to 8 week wait period for any type of order (and that was making 1 to 2 items per day, 7 days per week. Honestly).

The pattern side of crochet has really fulfilled me creatively; I’ve always designed my own garments, but actually publishing them and seeing what others do with my designs – it’s a thrill! At any given time, I have about 10 decent pattern ideas in my design book, and I randomly complete them when I get the inspiration to do so. 

I’m quite proud to be working with some of the best crochet talent for this round of Design Wars, and am absolutely thrilled that I was able to convince Red Heart Yarns to promote, sponsor, and donate to support our endeavor. Here’s my bit, enjoy!

Define success; What do you hope to accomplish? 

In all of my studying and doing, I feel I have a lot to offer to the crochet community. I feel that my methods of working and designing are unique, and I have developed a knack for teaching them that has proven to be very effective. Therefore, I define my success by how well I teach others, and their ability to master crochet. I feel a sense of accomplishment when following my students and seeing their work, which, with practice, becomes just as good as mine.  

If you could meet anyone in the crochet world, who would it be? Why?

Before I left England this past summer I visited an exhibit in London made for the Olympic games. It was a trio of gigantic crochet lions called The Lionheart Project, and it was made entirely of free form single crochet. I was so enchanted with the exhibit that I asked my favorite editor at Stitch Craft Create magazine if I could compile a special interest piece about it. She agreed! I went about my research in a variety of forms, and contacted the designer (Shauna Richardson) to congratulate her, and ask her a few questions for my article. To my utter delight, she responded with what became to be a quite friendly and mutually appreciative relationship. If I were still in England today, I would have sought her out. We would meet for tea, get matching tattoos, and talk about yarn. One day, I do hope to meet her in person! 

What is your most recent accomplishment?

Push ups! I’m up to 10 “for real” ones every day! It’s crochet related, because now I can work twice as fierce as I did with girly-push ups 🙂

Other than your own designs, do you have a favorite pattern?

My favorite pattern is one I have yet to make. I hope that counts! The Sidewalk Shawl has been on my list of garments to create for myself for years now, and I hope to make time for it before the fall of 2013. It’s the most gorgeous shawl, and was designed specifically for my favorite line of yarn (Stitch Nation)!

Which of your designs do you feel best represents you as an artist?

My Snail Shell Cover! While I always strive to be different and original in my design work, this is the one garment that I constructed without having a model concept. There are millions of slouchy hats, fingerless gloves, diaper covers and cowls, but at the time of it’s conception the Snail Shell Cover was born in my brain. While I don’t consider myself a designer specifically for newborn props, I feel this best represents me as an artist because it’s my very own organic concept. 

Salena Baca SpotlightIf you are a brand new fan of my work you can check out some of my designs (including free patterns!) on ravelry and craftsy. Follow me on facebook to see what kind of trouble I’m in, or special order garments directly from my shop!

If you are a fan and would like to root for Baca Creations in DWII, get yourTeam Badge and be sure to enter for your chance at our Red Heart Yarns prize pack (valued at $150)!

Got your own questions for me? Post them in a comment below and I just may answer you!

8 responses »

  1. I just heart you to pieces!!

    Reply
  2. Ha! Push ups is a recent accomplishment of mine – I’ve been able to do as many as 17 on my toes…still can’t do any tricep push ups though : ( Loved reading more about you Salena. I don’t think there are any bad points about you.

    Reply
  3. How long did you sell finished items before getting into crochet design?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

